cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - If community subscription notifications are filling up your inbox you can set up a daily digest and get all your notifications in a single email. X

Issue testing the Creo Parametric Toolkit Installation

ptc-4659621
1-Newbie

Issue testing the Creo Parametric Toolkit Installation

As a disclaimer I'm new to this and already not familiar with computers in this sense, so I could be missing something very basic.

I am getting an error when I try to build the make_install visual studio file. I think it is due to the environment variable PROE_INSTALL_PATH having an incorrect script but it looks correct to me.

I've set the variable path to C:\Program~Files\PTC\Creo~2.0\Parametric\, as it says to set to the parametric installation directory.

When I build make_install from MS Visual C++ 2010 Express I receive the following error:

1>------ Build started: Project: make_install, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------

1>

1> Microsoft (R) Program Maintenance Utility Version 10.00.30319.01

1> Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

1>

1>NMAKE : fatal error U1073: don't know how to make 'C:\PTC\Creo~2.0\Parametric\\protoolkit/protk_appls/pt_install_test/pt_install_src/TestInstall.c'

1> Stop.

1>C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\Microsoft.Cpp\v4.0\Microsoft.MakeFile.Targets(38,5): error MSB3073: The command "nmake /f make_install dll" exited with code 2.

========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========

Why is the path using forward slashes after protoolkit? That part is automatically generated, so to me there is no way it can create a valid path..

I tried switching the variable path to: C:/Program~Files/PTC/Creo~2.0/Parametric/

but all that did was reverse the error to read: 'C:/PTC/Creo~2.0/Parametric//protoolkit\protk_appls\pt_install_test\pt_install_src\TestInstall.c'