cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about the Community Ranking System, a fun gamification element of the PTC Community. X

Multiple sub-assembly connections failure.

pkane
1-Newbie

Multiple sub-assembly connections failure.

Hi All,

Apologies in advance, I am not sure if I am posting in the right category.

I am looking for some advice as to how to solve this problem I am experiencing with adding multiple sub-assemblies to an  assembly.

Please refer to picture for reference.

I have a master assembly with sub assembly A constrained in the default position in the top level. I have a second sub assembly B  fixed in position in the top level assembly aligned with sub assembly A. There is a drive rod ( C) which is constrained as a slider in the top level assembly as is connected at either end to  mechanisms within both A and B. The connections to A and B are defined as general coincidental constraint sets additional to the slider contstraint for C. ( Fig 1.)   The movement of C actuates mechanisms  within A and B (See Fig 2.) to have protusions extend out from A and B. This Assembly works as intended, moving C back and forth (by dragging)  lifts and lowers the blocks ( red triangles)  smoothly and without any issues.

The blocks have adjustable height ( amount they protrude) and this is controlled in the top level assembly  by adding a connection at part level in sub-assembly being a fixed height from the datum plane in the top level. Sub Assembly B also has a part level connection of fixed height to the top level datum plane. ( Fig. 3)  Modifying the the position of the the datum plane ( red line) adjusts the block height . This all works as intended.