cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - New to the community? Learn how to post a question and get help from PTC and industry experts! X

STEP export with custom coordinate system as origin in WEB.Link

Chris_Johnson
12-Amethyst

STEP export with custom coordinate system as origin in WEB.Link

Hi All,

I'm quite new to customisation using web.link. I have a customisation that is very close to doing what I need, except that I cannot work out how to trigger a certain option. I have already worked out, from the documentation that the pfcModel.ExportIntf3D() instruction will use the default export profile for the export settings, which is OK. I can control this easily with our setup. However, when exporting manually there is the option "Customize Export", a check box in the "Save a Copy" dialogue box. If I use this, I can export my assembly with the origin point set to a coordinate system of my choosing. How can I either invoke this dialogue or set the origin of the export to an existing named coordinate system (e.g. "export_csys") in the assembly? Is this possible?  

4 REPLIES 4

Have you tried a Mapkey with Variables in your code to initiate?

Dave

Thanks for this, I did think of using a mapkey for the whole lot, but it's a bit too involved for that. My requirement is to output all of the components (there are a variable number of them) as individual STEP, IGES, Parasolid and STL files, but with the origin for the parts all set at the point of the selected coordiante system. The idea is that you should be able to reassemble the parts by just placing them all at the origin.

I've got what I need working, with the sole exception of being able to choose an arbitrary coordinate system (or even a hard coded named system) for the origin of the output.

My code automatically names the files, which I can't see how I could do with a mapkey?

@Chris_Johnson wrote: