cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Have a PTC product question you need answered fast? Chances are someone has asked it before. Learn about the community search. X

How can I get a list of tags from the PLC?

ScottInTexas
4-Participant

How can I get a list of tags from the PLC?

I am just starting out and trying to figure out how to use KEPServerEx 6. I created the channel and the  device then opened the Quick Client. There are several folders listed such as DataLogger, System,etc. At the bottom is the Channel.Device._system folder. When I open that, there are about 22 tags. But not what I want. I am looking for temperatures, torques, pressures, etc. How do I get those tags?

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

@ScottInTexas

Here is a link to the page in the Allen Bradley Control Logix Manual that covers tag generation:

https://www.ptc.com/store/-/media/kepware-store/en/manuals/allen-bradley-controllogix-ethernet-manual.pdf#page=24

The Omron driver used to connect to an Omron protocol devices does not support the functionality of automatic tag generation. A manual addition of tags or csv import will be needed to add tags to the configuration for the Omron Driver. 

Thanks,

*Chris

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

If you have the channel and device entered correctly you should be able to browse through that channel (not the _system) and see the controller tags. You can also have the channel/device generate static tags in the configuration panel of the device setup.