cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Have a PTC product question you need answered fast? Chances are someone has asked it before. Learn about the community search. X

Nc tool path cpu usage

JP_10024045
3-Visitor

Nc tool path cpu usage

Hi,

I am a student at a university working on a year+ long project that requires us to cut out a semi complex aerodynamic part (around 2x0.5x0.5m for reference in size) on a 4th axis cnc machine. I am working on the nc tool paths to cut this part however I have gotten to the point where it takes 15+ minutes to calculate the tool paths (around 5 cut line operations) which makes it very hard to diagnose problems and becomes very time costly. I have heard about creo parametric not being able to use all of the cpu cores and as I am in creo 6 (for compatibility and IT reasons) I wanted to know if the newer versions of creo support using more cores for nc tool paths or if there is a way to get around it, I have a Ryzen 2600x (6 cores, 3.6 GHz) and 16GB of ram)

9 REPLIES 9

There have been discussions of this in the past, and a quick search brought me to this document:

Article about multithreading 

It doesn't mention manufacturing at all, unfortunately.

I have found that I can often speed up toolpath calculation significantly by defining specific part surfaces as check surfaces rather than including the entire model. Perhaps that is something to consider. For example, if I'm surface milling it will be much faster if I specifically pick the surface and any adjacent surfaces, for a total number of check surfaces in the tens, rather than the hundreds of surfaces it will use if stick with the default "use reference parts" or whatever that setting is.

Thanks for your response!