cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about PTC Community Badges. Engage with PTC and see how many you can earn! X

adding m codes to the post processor for a haas vf4ss

garytinker
5-Regular Member

adding m codes to the post processor for a haas vf4ss

ill preface this first with I'm really new at post-processor work,
I have a Haas vf4 ss with a few extra features.

we have through spindle air, and the auto air gun, 
*through spindle air on/off m73/m74
*auto air gun on/off m83/m84

my questions are:
*1 is it possible to add these "coolants" to creo as a selectable function
*2 how do i ( / do i ) add them to the post-processor

we also have a 65000 rpm air speeder spindle.
how do I go about setting this up in the post, currently I'm just running it manually as its own program?
we have one of these
http://www.airturbinetools.com/

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

This is a multi-level problem , to be sure. The sequence of events that has to be addressed is:

(1) Be able to specify, when defining a sequence in Creo, the type of "coolant" you want.

(2) Ensure that Creo is outputting you coolant specifications in a unique way to the .ncl file.

(3) Have the post-processor for your particular machine generate the correct M-codes based upon your coolant selection.

Step (1)

For this, you might be able to specify the coolant you want using the two parameters that describe a coolant, the TYPE and the PRESSURE.

Normally, at least for me, the PRESSURE is ignored, it's just the type of coolant that is set and off we go. For what you're dealing with, a combination of the two could make it specific what you are after. I looked at the options for a typical sequence (I'm on Creo 4, by the way) and the lists are:

TYPE -> FLOOD, MIST, OFF, ON, TAP, THRU, THRU_SPNDL, THRU_TOOL, and FROM_RAIL