cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about PTC Community Badges. Engage with PTC and see how many you can earn! X

Calculating a value using normal equations

DG_10313597
2-Guest

Calculating a value using normal equations

Dear All,

I hope you are doing well.

I am new to MathCAD and am trying to solve simultaneous equations using the least-squares method, however, every time I input the equations the variable is not recognised, even when I state the values one by one. 

I am attaching my work. If you help me it would be much appreciated. 

Screenshot 2022-05-17 195519.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hi,

If you choose the guess values in the supplied pdf you get a solution just as in the example.

Capture3.JPG

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
LucMeekes
23-Emerald III
(To:DG_10313597)

You should attach your Prime worksheet (.mcdx file). Not just a picture.

Success!
Luc

Luc, Thanks a lot for the heads up, I am attaching the file

Here I attach the worksheet

LucMeekes
23-Emerald III

There's a couple of issues with your sheet. No worries, that is to be expected for a beginner.

Prime complains that xi is unknown. You did not define it. Well you say: But I defined x1, x2, etc...!

In (Mathcad and) Prime there is a BIG difference between an index and a subscript.

You get an index to x if you type "x" followed by a "[" then an integer (number). This will allow you to index (point to) individual elements of the array x.

A subscript is just an extension of the name of a variable, you get vs by typing "v" then [CTRL _] then "s".

You should also know that indexes start at 0 by default, governed by the built-in variable ORIGIN

Type

ORIGIN=

somewhere on the sheet, and you'll see what it is.