cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - When posting, your subject should be specific and summarize your question. Here are some additional tips on asking a great question. X

Enlarging and enhancing the appearance of a surface plot

bobg100x
8-Gravel

Enlarging and enhancing the appearance of a surface plot

I'm a Mathcad newbie and consider myself fortunate to have been able to generate a crude surface plot of a function of two variables. This plot may be spotlighted as part of a History Channel series episode that will begin shooting in about three weeks. As such I want it to appear as "professional"-looking as possible. I have several questions:

[1] I want to "stretch" the plot in the y direction [range 0 to 4,000 feet] but have been stymied thus far. [Note: In a true-scale drawing of the plot, the y-direction side of the rectangle would be an order of magnitude longer than its x-direction counterpart. That’s obviously not achievable, but it would be nice to make the plot as narrow as possible.] PTC Mathcad Help, under Component Structure, states that “The plot area…displays the plot of the X and Y expressions defined in the Inputs area. You can use the component block handles to resize the chart area in the x, y, or both directions.” Problem is, I can’t find those handles.

[2] Is it possible to color the "mesh" in the z-direction [range 0 to 1.00]- -e.g., color it purple for values between 0 to 0.20, blue for values between 0.20 to 0.04, …., red for values between 0.80 and 1.00?

[3] Will Mathcad accommodate axis labels comprising up to 26 characters- -here specifically, “longitudinal (y) direction”, “transverse (x) direction” and still be able to include the applicable dimensional units (feet)?

[4] Can I change the worksheet orientation from portrait to landscape and minimize the margins and thus maximize the plot size?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION