cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Your Friends List is a way to easily have access to the community members that you interact with the most! X

Fourier

confused!
1-Newbie

Fourier

Hi, I'm new to Mathcad, so I'll apologise in advance for what is probably a simpleton's question!

I'm on an engineering course, and have been set a task, part of which is as follows;

using Mathcad FFT and IFFT functions perform the DFT of a signal which consists of 256 discrete samples, showing the resulting frequency spectrum of the signals.

As I said, I am new to Mathcad, and have no idea where to start; so any help or pointers would be much appreciated!

Thanks

19 REPLIES 19

using Mathcad FFT and IFFT functions perform the DFT of a signal which consists of 256 discrete samples, showing the resulting frequency spectrum of the signals.

Mathcad 15 has extensive help files, tutorials, and example worksheets in the "Help" files.

You'll need to read those to understand the differences between the various FFT functions available, so you should start there.

StuartBruff
23-Emerald II
(To:MichaelH)

In particular, do a search for "FFT" in help, then look at the Quicksheet linked at the bottom of the "FFT/IFFT of Real Data" help page.

Stuart

Thanks for the replies.

I've had a look, but am still a little in the dark.

I thought that whatever I would need to do, there would be 256 calculations. Am I right in thinking this can be input so that Mathcad automatically carries this out?

Thanks again.

StuartBruff
23-Emerald II
(To:confused!)