cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community email notifications are disrupted. While we are working to resolve, please check on your favorite boards regularly to keep up with your conversations and new topics.

Help calculating range of output, with component tolerances

ptc-4865308
1-Newbie

Help calculating range of output, with component tolerances

Hi.

I am new to using MathCad, so I hope I am not asking too simple of a question.

I have to calculate a voltage range on my input pin, depending on component tolerances and voltage tolerance. lets say I have a voltage which ranges from 6 to 18V,nominally at 12 and a simple voltage divider with R1/R2, each with 5% resistors, which functionality of Mathcad would give me a nice output of voltage ranges on my output ( that is between R1/R2).

the circuit is naturally more complex, I am just trying to lean how to and then expand once I know.

with this simple circuit, I would just put in min and max values and only have a couple of individual calculations, but my actual circuit has a lot more components, and calculating the range of outputs, with tolerances becomes a large task, if there is no function to give me the range

I btw, am using MathCad Prime 1.0

thanks very much in advance.

Kasper

5 REPLIES 5

In no way a simple question (unfortunately).

You will have to write a routine to do the task.

Each variable with tolerance be represented by a vector (of "enough" values, as for more complicated functions it would not suffice to just use min amd max value) and the routine would cycle through all possible combinations, collecting and returning the results in a vector. Not easy to make that a general, all purpose routine, I guess.

You may look if this thread is of any help http://communities.ptc.com/message/199660#199660