cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about PTC Community Badges. Engage with PTC and see how many you can earn! X

How can I tell symbolic expression solver to output the result as a function or a particular set of variables?

ptc-5782298
1-Newbie

How can I tell symbolic expression solver to output the result as a function or a particular set of variables?

Hi all,

I am new to Mathcan and I am trying to solve a matrix equation A = B*C symbolically. I would like to have the output written using only a set of primary variables.

I attached the equation. The output Et1 and Et2 contains Et2. What I would like to have is Et1 in terms on alpha, theta, k and t only.

Can anybody suggest something?

Many thanks in advance!

Newin

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

41 REPLIES 41

Like so?

Symbolic.PNG

Alan

Hi Alan,

Many thanks for your quick reply. That is exactly what I would like to do, but could you explain me how you get that to work? In other words, what does the statement mean, i.e. why do we need to put (Et1 Et2) vector on the left, and what is the thick equal signs to the right of (Et1 Et2)' vector? And how did you insert the long vertical bar next to solve and substitute?

I am completely new to Mathcad and your suggestions will be very helpful.

Newin

why do we need to put (Et1 Et2) vector on the left,

When you solve for more than one variable using the symbolic solver it gives the result as a row vector, so you need to assign the result to variables in a row vector (odd really, as Mathcad normally prefers column vectors!).

...what is the thick equal signs to the right of (Et1 Et2)' vector?