cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Need to share some code when posting a question or reply? Make sure to use the "Insert code sample" menu option. Learn more! X

How do I correlate (SQL style) two arrays, one small which contains data about the entities, and one very large which contains results data at each entity?

dridgley
1-Newbie

How do I correlate (SQL style) two arrays, one small which contains data about the entities, and one very large which contains results data at each entity?

Hi there,

I'm an engineer looking for a way to automate the report generation of calculations using data from finite element applications. I'm hoping Mathcad might provide a solution.

I've looked through the help files and performed various searches but to no avail. I am a novice Mathcad user.

For those who aren't familiar, all that really matters is that we have a structural model which contains many 'elements'. You can think of the elements as Lego bricks to aid visualisation.

Each element only has one set of properties, such as max shear, max tension etc. A table of the properties for, say, a two element model might look like this:

Element_ID     MaxForce(lbf)

1                      2000

2                      2400

But each element can have many results records for different loading scenarios. The results might look like this in a CSV file for three load cases:

Element_ID     Load_ID     Force(lbf)

1                         1          500

2                         1          600

1                         2          45.6

2                         2          200

1                         3          123

2                         3          2400

I can easily import the above into Mathcad as two seperate arrays from two CSV files.

What I need to do is create a third array within Mathcad which contains the following: