cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The community will undergo maintenance on October 16th at 10:00 PM PDT and will be unavailable for up to one hour.

How do I define custom derivation rules for calculating error marigin in formula?

ptc-5652231
1-Newbie

How do I define custom derivation rules for calculating error marigin in formula?

I am new to mathcad and I was searching for a function to calculate the amount of error (relative/absolute) in any formula.

At my physics study we need to be able to determine this for any formula, but sometimes it takes really large amounts of pages to write them and hours to double check them.

There are a few simple rules for creating formula's which determine the error:

1)When adding or substracting, the total error is the addition of the two absolute error, example:

Formula:

R_total = R_1 - R_2 + R_3

error formula:

total_error_in_R = error_in_R_1 + error_in_R_2 + error_in_R_3

2)When multiplying or dividing, you add the relative errors (error in value divided by the value itself)

Formula: U = I * R

Error formula: error_in_U / U = error_in_I/I + error_in_R/R

3) How to define additional rules? (powers, etc)

Is this even possible in Mathcad?

8 REPLIES 8

Hi

there was a discussion aout this topic not too long ago:

http://communities.ptc.com/message/228086#228086

This might give you some ideas abotu what is possible & definitely what the pit falls can be.

regards

Andy

Werner_E
25-Diamond I
(To:ptc-5652231)

Rafal Grasman wrote:

Formula: U = I * R

Error formula: error_in_U / U = error_in_I/I + error_in_R/R