cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Help us improve the PTC Community by taking this short Community Survey! X

New User with a Programming Question

CoreyKerns
1-Newbie

New User with a Programming Question

Hello,

I am a Virginia Tech Grad student and a Coast Guard officer doing some thesis work in Ship Design. I am using MthCad to program an Energy Calculator that will calculate fuel usage for different engine plant configurations. I have come a across a problem that I need help with.

Could someone explain to me how to program a MathCad file to use a discreet choice to decide which equations to use. I though the "if" command would work but it doesn't seem too.

In my program there are three discreet choices for how to calculate the fuel usage and these choice depend on plant configuration, i.e. mechanical, electric, and hybrid.

The equations for each plant type would use the same variables. So how you program MathCad to say if Mechanical follow these equations, if electrical follow these and so on but keeping the same variables.

I've tried assigning the plan configs numbers 1 - 3 and then using if statements to say if PlantConfig=2 use this set of equations. But I am a novice at MathCad and can't fine help locally.

Thank you,

Corey

12 REPLIES 12
MikeArmstrong
5-Regular Member
(To:CoreyKerns)

Corey,

Have you solved this problem, if not would you upload a worksheet.

Mike

Hello Corey,

it is not easy to guess what you're after (without an example that is), but maybe this will help. It works fine in the attached MC11 file

Raiko

MikeArmstrong
5-Regular Member
(To:Raiko)

Raiko Milanovic wrote:

Hello Corey,

it is not easy to guess what you're after (without an example that is), but maybe this will help. It works fine in the attached MC11 file

Raiko

Raiko,