cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you know you can set a signature that will be added to all your posts? Set it here! X

Please Help me with this bug - Integral functions and plotting

PH_9740325
3-Visitor

Please Help me with this bug - Integral functions and plotting

Hi all, I am new to MathCAD and i can just not figure out this bug. 

I am trying to plot a chart for beam deflection on prime4. I am using an old mathcad15 sheet as a reference and the cad 15 sheet calculates it fin so this should work but I cannot figure out why it's giving me an error. 

PH_9740325_0-1607014677259.png

PH_9740325_1-1607014724267.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

I need to point out that both of you have run afoul of the "English Units" tribulation.

"lb" is a unit of mass.  We're dealing with forces (lbf)

Attached is Werner's sheet modified (sorry Werner) to correct unit issues (including degrees.)

I only have Express, if opened in full Mathcad it should calculate properly.

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16

Even though Prime would accept its its bad math to use the same variable as limit and variable of integration like in

Werner_E_1-1607042984565.png

But as Prime is unit aware, you must even add the unit to a value of zero. This is different to real Mathcad which uses static unit checking. So a correct approach would be something like

Werner_E_2-1607043053204.png

Doing this consequently gives you

Werner_E_3-1607043416113.png

BTW, you should Prime let do the conversion from radian to degree and vice versa for you. There is a predefined constant/unit factor "deg" which is pi/180.

Thank you so much!! i will give this a go and report back! it looks like this will work!

The only thing really necessary is to add a unit of length to the lower integral limit.