cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about the Community Ranking System, a fun gamification element of the PTC Community. X

Plotting columns of a matrix

pshaw
1-Newbie

Plotting columns of a matrix

I have defined 2 range variables and an equation that uses these variables to create a matrix.

I would like to plot specific columns of this matrix against one of the range variables.

I have tried everything I can think of.  Running out of ideas.

I am a student trying to learn Mathcad.

Would appreciate any suggestions.  Thanks !

25 REPLIES 25
LucMeekes
23-Emerald III
(To:pshaw)

Example:

Success!
Luc

Luc,

Thank you so much for your reply.  I appreciate your help !

Below are my variables and my equation.  I would like to plot the first and last columns of the matrix L against the range variable d.

It seems like I'm doing something similar to your example (thanks for posting that !)

The error shown around L says . . . "These array elements must be scalars.  They cannot be vectors or matrices".

I'm confused . . . what am I doing wrong ?

Would appreciate any help.  Thanks again !

Fred_Kohlhepp
23-Emerald I

You can't have units in an index.

Look at this:

Fred_Kohlhepp
23-Emerald I

The subscript designation for a matrix element is row, column.  To plot the second column you would need the second subscript to be (ORIGIN+1).  To plot against range variable I, the subscript would be M[I,ORIGIN+1.

Luc's approach was a bit different; the superscript <ORIGIN> chooses a whole specific column of the matrix, then the single subscript specifies the row.  Same effect.

Thanks Fred, I appreciate your comments !

I'm trying to plot a whole column of the matrix L, specifically the first column, against the range variable d.

So I would like to plot a curve with the data points as :