cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you know you can set a signature that will be added to all your posts? Set it here! X

Problem with calculation time of a nested function

ptc-5419055
1-Newbie

Problem with calculation time of a nested function

I try to plot the current through a Resistor-Coil Network with the following function. The following variable are defined static outside the equation (I_Anker_max, f_T, t_ein) and don't matter to much anyway. The issue I am having is that with increasing range of nx the calculation time rises exponentially and I even think that I know why. In my opinion the reason is that every time the Loop starts it calculates the hole thing from scratch. Unfortunately I am quite new to Mathcad and don't have any idea how to solve that. I'd be glad if someone had an advise for me.

Best regards Andre

Here the equations, the problem is with the last function at the bottom of the sheet:

Test.png

8 REPLIES 8

ReturnFor.png

Thanks for the answer but I don't understand what u mean... For what should the return value be used, is it really neccessary? I expected toggle(t) to switch between 1 and 0 depending on t. And that is what it does.

There may be other improvements possible (especially you may consider the use of the mod() function instead of the for-loop over nx) but it helps saving time if you dont calculate the same expression twice, especially as you do it recursive.07.01.png

Thanks, with this i already save quite some time. However i wonder why your Version with mod doesn't end up with the same result.

However i wonder why your Version with mod doesn't end up with the same result.