cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about the Community Ranking System, a fun gamification element of the PTC Community. X

Simultaneous Equations won't Solve

ptc-1298530
1-Newbie

Simultaneous Equations won't Solve

I'm new at this, so please bear with me. I'm running Mathcad 15 M010 (also tried on Prime 2.0 with the same results)... I'm attempting to use a solve block (Given/Find) to determine the necessary outside diameter of a pipe given a known loading case. When I try to solve the 3 simultaneous equations, I do not get the right answer - matter of fact, the values that I get aren't even valid given the equations I'm using. However, when I merge my equations together in a single equation the solution works fine. I've attached the Mathcad file (Simultaneous equation2.xmcd) with the issue so hopefully someone is up to teaching a rookie how to do this stuff. Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Nonlinear problems with multiple variables can be difficult. The search algorithm is going into non-feasible regions. You have prevented that in the second method by making the substitutions for I and A.a. Another way is to make I and A.a functions of either dia.in or a new variable that is the ratio of dia.in to dia.out. Then you have just one variable to find. With the ratio variable, you set the limits between 0 and 1 which is convenient for all cases.

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12

Your initial guesses should be feasible values. Assume the dia.out, calc the guesses for I and A.a.

RichardJ
19-Tanzanite
(To:ptc-1298530)