cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can change your system assigned username to something more personal in your community settings. X

Solve equation with/without units

S1
5-Regular Member
5-Regular Member

Solve equation with/without units

Hi All,

I am very new in Mathcad, have a very basic question.

consider the below equation:

S1_0-1583935726727.png

Mathcad solves the equation and finds the "v" as is expected.

Now I add units to the equation:

S1_1-1583935888826.png

I don't know why I don't get the same value here directly after "solve,v"?

In the following, I can return the value of "v" and get the values which are correct.

S1_2-1583936038212.png

Is there any way to skip the part shows first within the [ ] and get the final answer?

In addition, Is it possible to rewrite the equation symbolically and get an expression for "v":

S1_3-1583936934369.png

another example for clarification:

S1_5-1583938015798.png

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
LucMeekes
23-Emerald III
(To:S1)

Welcome to the forum.

The symbolic solver does not 'know units'. It will allow them, but treat them as unknown variables, at best.

In general you are better off first solving whatever problem you have symbolically, WITHOUT entering any values. Symbolically, means: using only symbols (as much as possible).

The symbolic solution will give you an expression, if you're smart you make it result in a function.

Now in that function, you can enter your numbers, including units, if you want.

Example:

LucMeekes_0-1583939118932.png

Note that I entered the 1.4 as 14/10, that is to prevent the symbolic solver to go into floating mode, at which it will give numbers with ridiculously many digits.