cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The community will undergo maintenance on October 16th at 10:00 PM PDT and will be unavailable for up to one hour.

The variable is undefined. Check that the label is set correctly. Mathcad 9.0.0.0

AP_12141614
1-Newbie

The variable is undefined. Check that the label is set correctly. Mathcad 9.0.0.0

Does anyone know why this is happening? I set all the "B" Labels to "Variable" and it still says undefined.

AP_12141614_1-1728931925515.png

I got this example from a youtube video and it gives a different error.

AP_12141614_2-1728931989270.png

This is pretty frustrating, not gonna lie. I am new to mathcad, so maybe it's something I'm doing.

Here's to hoping you can help.

Thanks

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
StuartBruff
23-Emerald III
(To:AP_12141614)

Your first problem is caused by evaluation operator after the function definition.  Get rid of it and your troubles go away.

2024 10 14 C.png

I have no idea why your second problem occurs.  It works fine in Mathcad Prime 10.0 and I see no reason to suppose that it does not work in Mathcad Prime 9.  This is why experienced Mathcadders recommend that you post a worksheet with the problem in it.  There are some subtleties, such as Math Styles or Greek vs Latin characters, that don't necessarily show up very well in a screenshot.   

Ah, in fact, looking closely at your screenshot, did you use the subscript operator ctrl-minus or the index operator [ to insert the i?  A subscript in a name is just a decoration and the i forms part of the name.  An index i is a separate name.

2024 10 14 C.png

I'd post a worksheet but it wouldn't be much use to you as Mathcad Prime files aren't backward compatible.

Stuart

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
StuartBruff
23-Emerald III