cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you get called away in the middle of writing a post? Don't worry you can find your unfinished post later in the Drafts section of your profile page. X

Using Mathcad to Plot a system of Polynomials (Chemical Reactor Design)

FrankButcher
1-Newbie

Using Mathcad to Plot a system of Polynomials (Chemical Reactor Design)

Hi,

I'm an undergraduate Chemical Engineer and I am doing a problem designing a CSTR for a transesterification reaction. The reaction involves three reversible steps, so in total six reactions with six rate constants. I have kinetically modelled the steady-state material balance equations for the reaction, however because of the order of the polynomials am not aware of a simple hand-calculation method to rearrange the concentrations in to functions of kinetic parameters and residence time only, which would allow me to plot them against each other in mathcad.

The reactions taking place are:

A+B<->C+D r1=k1*C.A*C.B; r.2=k.2*C.C*C.D

C+B<->E+D r3=k3*C.C*C.B; r.4=k.4*C.E*C.D

D+B<->F+D r5=k5*C.D*C.B; r.6=k.2*C.F*C.D

I've typed out the material balances for the reaction in the attached document, I put in boolean equals because I thought that might be the right first step, however any help would be appreaciated..

I'm wondering if there's any way that I can enter the equations as functions of each other, and allow mathcad to do the rearrangement work and simply plot C.A;C.B;C.C;C.D;C.E and C.F against Tau on the time axis.