cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - When posting, your subject should be specific and summarize your question. Here are some additional tips on asking a great question. X

What is the programming paradigm in Mathcad?

rking-2
1-Newbie

What is the programming paradigm in Mathcad?

I have some experience in C language, and I know the structured programming, and in the structured programming there are no the "functions": break and continue as there are in MathCad programming.

Prog_Mathcad.png

In Mathcad the programing paradigm is object oriented, declarative or another?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
StuartBruff
23-Emerald II
(To:rking-2)

rking-2 wrote:

I have some experience in C language, and I know the structured programming, and in the structured programming there are no the "functions": break and continue as there are in MathCad programming.

Mathcad is a mix of declarative and functional.  Functions are (almost) first class objects and can be passes as arguments and returned from programs / functions.   With the addition of a few simple functions to cater for implicit loops, I can often write a worksheet in a functional form that transfers well to, for example, Haskell.

I suggested object-oriented as an extension about a decade ago (my, how tempus has fugited!). 

Stuart

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
StuartBruff
23-Emerald II

rking-2 wrote:

Mathcad is a mix of declarative and functional.  Functions are (almost) first class objects and can be passes as arguments and returned from programs / functions.   With the addition of a few simple functions to cater for implicit loops, I can often write a worksheet in a functional form that transfers well to, for example, Haskell.

I suggested object-oriented as an extension about a decade ago (my, how tempus has fugited!). 

Stuart

RichardJ
19-Tanzanite