cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Stay updated on what is happening on the PTC Community by subscribing to PTC Community Announcements. X

help needed

Maz
1-Newbie
1-Newbie

help needed

Hi everyone,

I'm a student and need to import pdf files which show received data in a system and with mathcad get the bit error rate and other values for it.

HELP

28 REPLIES 28
RichardJ
19-Tanzanite
(To:Maz)

Mathcad can't read a pdf file. If the data is in the file as text you should be able to copy and paste it into an input table. That depends on how it's formatted in the pdf file though. Can you post the file?

Maz
1-Newbie
1-Newbie
(To:RichardJ)

Thank you so much for your reply. What if I have the data in excel? (I've now put them in excel to make it work)

I'm sure I can enter it that way can't I? The problem is I am completely stumped

I would greatly appreciate your help.

RichardJ
19-Tanzanite

Go to "Insert", "Data", "File Input", select your Excel file, select the worksheet, etc. If you want to change the worksheet later, right click on the File Input component, and select "Properties". You can use the submatrix function to remove the two header rows.

Maz
1-Newbie
1-Newbie

Thank you Richard,

Now I'm going to have to figure out how to use the data to create a graphs for the probability densities and we've been told to superimpose the graph over our data (no idea what the lecturer means by that) and then get the threshold voltage and then bit error rate and other data from there.

aaarrrggghhh I'm starting to feel really dumb

RichardJ
19-Tanzanite

we've been told to superimpose the graph over our data (no idea what the lecturer means by that)

I'm sure that what is meant is that you should plot the functon for the probability density on the same graph as the data (i.e two curves on one graph).

Maz
1-Newbie
1-Newbie

Thanks again.