cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Need help navigating or using the PTC Community? Contact the community team. X

passing functions as arguments

p6majo
1-Newbie

passing functions as arguments

Hello,

I'm a newbie to this forum, if I ask a well discussed question, please don't blame me, just send the corresponding link.

I want to perform some symbolic calculations to Rings of Polynomials. Therefore, it would be rather useful to be able to write programs that receive functions or polynomials as arguments.

I don't see a straightforward way to do this. Does someone know a work around?

Using the correspondence between polynomials and the number sequence of the coefficients is helpful but doesn't do the full job. For instance, I don't see a way to convert the number sequence back into a polynomial that I can work with.

Thank you,
JOhannes.
4 REPLIES 4
StuartBruff
23-Emerald II
(To:p6majo)

On 2/8/2009 9:47:04 AM, p6majo wrote:
== Therefore, it would be rather useful to be able to write programs that receive functions or polynomials as arguments.

The usual method is to pass the function name. See attached.

Stuart

This is helpful, thank you,
Johannes.

You may be newbie in Mathcad but maybe not so much in what you are after. For God sake what is it you want to do ? "I want to perform some symbolic calculations to Rings of Polynomials".

Polynomials forms and coefficients don't come out of the blue . Assuming you have a collection of coefficients, and out of that large collection each smaller collection belongs to a particular "polynomial" . Then easy and the only mathematical way is the "Lagrange iterated product". It is instantly operational, and if you want to see it in full expansion, then ask the symbolic to do it for you, at this point of the expansion, you have an executable form for lower level software like Excel...etc.