cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Help us improve the PTC Community by taking this short Community Survey! X

How can I get Mathcad to recongnize transconductance?

DarrellH
1-Newbie

How can I get Mathcad to recongnize transconductance?

I'm new to Mathcad and can't fingure this out. If anyone can give a quick answer I'd really appreciate it.

I defined Gblk1:=8mhos using the "mho" symbol from the insert unit pull down menu. But on the next line, when I type in Iblk1=Vinput*Gblk1, it states that this is an undefined value. Any clues why it doesn't recongnize Gblk1?

Other questions:

1. Is there a quick keystroke to get common symbols like the Ohm symbol, etc without having to go thru the pull down menu each time?

2. When I take a defined value and move it to another part of the sheet, if it is lower vertically the equations on the top side don't work. Is there a way to get Mathcad to use defined values regardless of where they are on the sheet?

Thanks for your help.

Darrell

4 REPLIES 4
LucMeekes
23-Emerald III
(To:DarrellH)

It helps to attach a worksheet, to see where problems lie.

To answer your other questions:

1. To get an omega symbol, type a "W" followed by [CTRL-G] (for "greek")

2. You can have global definitions, instead of typing ":" which normally results in the ":=" symbol, type "~", which results in a "triple equals" (three, instead of two dashes on top of each other), constituting a global definition.

Success!

Luc

Darrell Hambley wrote:

I'm new to Mathcad and can't fingure this out. If anyone can give a quick answer I'd really appreciate it.

I defined Gblk1:=8mhos using the "mho" symbol from the insert unit pull down menu. But on the next line, when I type in Iblk1=Vinput*Gblk1, it states that this is an undefined value. Any clues why it doesn't recongnize Gblk1?

Other questions: