cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Your Friends List is a way to easily have access to the community members that you interact with the most! X

Alphabetical listing upper case then lower case

ptc-115314
1-Newbie

Alphabetical listing upper case then lower case

We are getting CREO 2 this fall and I'm curious to know before we get it ifPTC hasgotten past the need to list folder/file names in an upper case first then lower case issue? I am referring to the "Open" dialogbox and the in app browser and anywhere else they use this style.

I've been working with Pro/E for 21 years and still have not gotten use to this style of listings.

Is there a option in the config that I've been missing all these years?

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
8 REPLIES 8

Looks to be the same... here's the File > Open dialog:

[cid:image001.jpg@01CE99AB.7341C2F0]

-Ter

Well that's just fine...

Thanks Ter but now I have to ask "WHY?".

Does anyone know the reasoning behind listing upper case first then lower case?

It's legacy behavior from the days of UNIX, where characters are in ASCII order.
It's still inexcusable.
Pro/E, Wildfire, Creo has been running under Windows for well over 15 years.

Gerry Champoux
Williams International
Walled Lake, MI

In Reply to Ronald Huber:

Well that's just fine...

Thanks Ter but now I have to ask "WHY?".

Does anyone know the reasoning behind listing upper case first then lower case?

BenLoosli
23-Emerald II
(To:ptc-115314)