cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Stay updated on what is happening on the PTC Community by subscribing to PTC Community Announcements. X

Buying Laptop to Use With Pro Engineer

mecestudent
1-Newbie

Buying Laptop to Use With Pro Engineer

Hello,

I am looking to buy a laptop that can handle Pro Engineer. I don't want to buy a really expensive one since I only really need to use Pro Engineer for one semester (I'm an engineering student), the rest of the time I'll be using the laptop for normal applications like MS Office or Internet.

I read that the recommended computer speed to run Pro E is 2.4 GHz...can I get by with just 2.2 or 2.3 GHz? Will there be a noticeable difference?

Any suggestions/recommendations would be appreciated! Thank you for your time!

7 REPLIES 7

Hi,

I think it all depend what you want to do.

If you stay away from complex surfaces, or power hungry FEA with lots of nods, you should be fine.

If you plan to create large assembly you will need lots of Ram.

But if you want to learn how to use proe and and keep to the reasonable complexity model you should be fine.

Nicolas

I would get a 64 bit OS, with at least 6 gigs of Ram, with option to upgrade, and quad core.

I would spend at least a grand, If you end up using Pro/E you are going to glad you spent the $$$.

Wow! That is quite an expensive purchase considering I'm a student and I'll only be using ProE for one course...

But thank you for your input. 🙂

I have a $600 lap top and it works fine, 32 bit with 4 gigs of ram, dual core.

It has a few quirks, you'll be fine with a less expensive computer, but if you get hooked on Pro/E, and start using it, you'll need to upgrade.

I don't think the 64bit OS is necessary as proe sudient is only 32 bit

Proe is not multi threaded and use only one core.

see below the spec requiered.

I found it on PTC official site