cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you get called away in the middle of writing a post? Don't worry you can find your unfinished post later in the Drafts section of your profile page. X

Lag when moving items

jdavis
1-Newbie

Lag when moving items

I apologize if this isn't in the most appropriate forum, and for my ignorance as I am not a ProE user.

Intermittently, several users are experiencing tremendous delays when dragging dimensions, tables, or even just individuals lines. It will take several seconds for the movement to catch up with all of the input the mouse provided.

The users that suffer from this are using Quadro FX 580 cards on dual extended desktop displays. I have tried both the latest and PTC-certified drivers on the nVidia site. Neither seemed to help.

I noticed that if I disabled the 2nd monitor the problems went away completely. I also noticed that if I configured the desktop to SPAN across the bother monitors (not just extending to the 2nd monitor), then the problems were more-or-less gone. Even when spanning, there are some very minor delays but it is usable.

So, I thought spanning the desktops was the solution; however, ProE would then open every window across both monitors since it's treating it like a single display. Despite my attempts at changing window_scale to attempt to represent 50% of the screen width, it still didn't work. I tried various combinations with the graphics option as well, but no luck.

I feel these are my options to eliminate the lag:

1. Span the desktop across both screens, and figure out how to force ProE to open windows only on 1 monitor
2. Find the proper drivers + video card settings
3. Some combination of unknown ProE config options

If I could only get window_scale to work as I think it should, then I think that would be satisfactory, but I can't figure out what I'm missing.