cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community email notifications are disrupted. While we are working to resolve, please check on your favorite boards regularly to keep up with your conversations and new topics.

System message

ptc-2514597
1-Newbie

System message

Hello there! I'm a newbie -you'll see it. I tried to search the topics but couldn't find anything similar. My 'puter meets the requirements, but when I try to click on save, or open the program crashes with the following error: system message: SIGNAL RECEIVED: segmentation violation Please if someone could have any idea how to improve my knowledge about solving this cruicial problem, I would be very gladful. thanx
6 REPLIES 6
Not applicable
(To:ptc-2514597)

See http://www.clausbrod.de/OneSpaceModeling/OsdmFaqTroubleshooting#SignalReceived for background on the message. This is a generic error message which is displayed when there isn't much other information for the user. In some cases, you can find out more by entering the following command in the user input line: (display (f2::get-last-exception)) This will open the display box window and display some internal crash information. Copy the data from the window, paste it into a text file, and post the text file here. This will hopefully lead us into the right direction. From your description, it sounds like you get the crash whenever you try to open the file dialog, either for saving or loading. If so, the culprit might be a system component which installs itself as a Windows shell extension. (Those shell extensions are loaded into a process whenever the process opens a file dialog.) Claus
ptc-2514597
1-Newbie
(To:)