cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Visit the PTCooler (the community lounge) to get to know your fellow community members and check out some of Dale's Friday Humor posts! X

set-up of Simulate

RonSt.Pierre
11-Garnet

set-up of Simulate

First off, forgive me, I am new at the simulate side of things.

I am attempting to do the middle man admin of the software setup and I am looking for some insight.

I need to do an accelerated knowledge gain as we do not have the time it took me to figure out a CP setup.

I set up CP2 and now taking on the task to set up simulate.

Background: basic CP2 set up:

CP2 M180 on Windchill 10.0

I have a common directory for all the "text" directory items (holes, material, notes...), master config.pro, etc.

The user start up runs a bat file that sets up their local working directory, updates/resets master files to local start-up directory, offers license use (AAX, Cable...).

Question (first of a few):

Can simulate follow the same setup?  Should it?

The associate that runs the software has an OOTB set up.  Been that way for a while.

The amount of files the program generates to me is daunting, so looking to manage them.

Question:

Can simulate work with Windchill?

If so, what files need to be uploaded or will Windchill do that for me?

A major pain, at least from the associates side is the units.

Currently in CP, we use the default Inch lbm Second.  Results for &mass is in pounds.

In simulate, the associate changes the units to Inch Pound Second (something about having/not having to deal with a gravitational constant) to perform analysis, then has to convert the file back.  Not doing so makes the result for &mass to something we're not expecting. (we need weight - aerospace products)

Question:

is there a simple way, perhaps a simulation config option, that will do the actions automatically instead of manually?