cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about PTC Community Badges. Engage with PTC and see how many you can earn! X

How to get remote csv data into ThingWorx?

GaryMansell
6-Contributor

How to get remote csv data into ThingWorx?

Hi,

I am new to ThingWorx and would really appreciate a bit of guidance as to the best way of approaching a new project we want to do.

We will have a number of remote Raspberry Pi's running an application that collects time series data into a csv file held local to the device. The csv data table on each device will not be huge - a few 1000's of rows at the most, but data will be continually added to the csv file all the time the application is running on the Pi.

The Rapsberry Pi will be connected via WIFI to a mobile phone WIiFi hotspot to provide Internet connectivity, but there may be periods of time where the connectivity is not 100% and it may drop for short periods of time. Hence, the csv file on the remote device would act as a permanent data store (and also a buffer) for when the connectivity may drop to the ThingWorx server briefly.

It seems to me that the ThingWorx server is going to have to regularly poll the remote Raspberry Pi (so that I can show a near real-time data mashup) and will need some "smarts" so that it only pulls/requests new data that it is missing rather than the whole file each time. ThingWorx will need to persist this data itself so that I can view the historical data on the mashup as well as real-time.

I would really appreciate some pointers as to how to best achieve this sort of solution with ThingWorx

Thanks in advance

Gary

4 REPLIES 4
PaiChung
22-Sapphire I
(To:GaryMansell)

Using the Edge Microserver you can easily do a filetransfer and parse Server side.

or even post content to Thingworx.

Not sure what restrictions you face, but I think that would work better.

GaryMansell