cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Help us improve the PTC Community by taking this short Community Survey! X

TWX 9.0 UPGRADE: Very disappointed with 9.0's Composer

OldGoat
12-Amethyst

TWX 9.0 UPGRADE: Very disappointed with 9.0's Composer

I have been a Web Applications Developer and Web UX Architect/Designer for 20+ years.  Last year, I started working with ThingWorx 8.3.3.  It was quite a paradigm shift for me, but I felt that the composer was a great tool; very legible, easy to understand and use, etc.  Yes, it needed improvements.  But it was still a great product!  And then we upgraded to 8.5.4.  And it was HORRIBLE!  But then I was given hope. 

I was super pumped when I heard we were going to upgrade to TWX 9.0.  I had been pushing for it since I heard it was coming out.  We finally upgraded from 8.5.4 YESTERDAY (August 05, 2020)!  I just knew you had fixed all of the super annoying stuff that you inserted in version 8.5.4, and that it would take up less screen space (less scrolling, easier to read), widgets were all fixed, the nag screens would be gone and placed in a user preference.  But instead, it is just more of the same, with only slight usability improvements, not the sweeping improvements I was led to believe were coming. I have immediately run into several things which are making me extremely frustrated.  Here is just a very small sampling of frustrating things:

1.  Obsolete bindings for "....<Function Name>...." were removed.