Weird timing. I just moved all my studio work into git yesterday and appreciated that those files were there by default, particularly the .gitignore. However my repo (Azure DevOps) supports LFS so I didn't have this problem.
I'll be interested to see an answer though as setting the defaults could be useful.
One issue i did find today is that if you use the "Save As" button on the Studio project page it copies the entire project folder including the .git directory. This will tie your saved copy back to the same remote and branch as what you copied from. If you make changes to the copy project and then push them they are going to the old project repo by default.
So if you use the "Save As" button the immediate next step needs to be deleting the .git folder and then add, commit and push to the correct remote.