cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

How to Rename Family Table Assembly (the Generic and the Instances)?

ScottPearson
3-Visitor

How to Rename Family Table Assembly (the Generic and the Instances)?

I am new to the "fun" world of Family Table parts/ assemblies. I've got the general scheme down pat but I am confused about Renaming the "Generic" file and the associated files of the "Instances".

My situation has the added wrinkle of using Windchill-based PRO/Intralink as my PDM.

SITUATION

Current Filenames:

Generic Filename = Widget_generic.asm

Instance 1 Filename = Widget_inst1.asm

Instance 2 Filename = Widget_inst2.asm

I want to Rename those files as shown here:

Generic Filename = Bracket_generic.asm

Instance 1 Filename = Bracket_inst1.asm

Instance 2 Filename = Bracket_inst2.asm

First thing I did in my Renaming process was to Rename the Generic file in Windchill. That worked as expected. No surprises.

Then following the rules (as I understand them), I  then checked-out the Generic file and the files of both Instances.

Then I opened the Generic file in Creo, opened the Family Table, then edited the names of the Instances to my desired new filenames.

I verified all Instances, closed down the Family Table, then saved/closed the Generic file.

Here's where the surprise came in:

When looking in my Workspace after the save/close of the Generic, I had two "New" files in my Workspace bearing the names I had just provided in my edited Family Table. And the two files of the original Instances were no longer listed. What gives?

I had expected that the filesnames of the Instances would have changed in the Workspace but I did not expect that files of the (Renamed) Instances would show up as "New" files.