cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Your Friends List is a way to easily have access to the community members that you interact with the most! X

plotting a circle using points of triangle

ptc-5041319
1-Newbie

plotting a circle using points of triangle

Hello, i am studying master program at mechanical engineering. I am trying plot a circle using 3 points of a triangle. Circle must be plot inside triangle. How can i do? I have done my first homework but second is harder for me. I am using mathcad 15.

44 REPLIES 44

henry leung wrote:

Can anyone help me to make this file work?

Not anyone - only Werner!

Thats exactly the problem with vectors and solve block. Mathcad can not know the dimensions of E and so you would have to provide the elements and again we don't have a pure vetcorial solution.

The best we can achieve is a solution using complex number (similar to Alan's) instead of vectors.

A workaround is attached.

Vectors, complex numbers...

KISS- 3 simple (transparent!) equations with 3 unknown r, x.r and y.r. Numerical or symbolic solution and no problem!

See one more animation in attach.

http://communities.ptc.com/servlet/JiveServlet/downloadImage/2-203897-49569/450-402/TriCircle-1.png

Werner Exinger wrote:

The best we can achieve is a solution using complex number (similar to Alan's) instead of vectors.

Whatever you can do with complex numbers you can do with vectors, of course - see attached. But this still doesn't help with the symbolic solution.

I'm inclined towards Valery's view that his approach is the simplest, especially for novices. That said, there is a pleasing elegance about a vector approach!

Alan

The Simplest solution - a cloud function!

Do You know more simple solution this task?

SCT.png