cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about PTC Community Badges. Engage with PTC and see how many you can earn! X

Advanced Surfacing Techniques

rpostak
1-Newbie

Advanced Surfacing Techniques

Hello to all,

I am new to the PTC CREO world, but I have over 30 years of CAD experience in other softwares and 20 of those 30 years have been all parametric modeling.  I am currently using CATIA V5 here at work and I am in the process of evaluating CREO for our engineering department.

So my question is...after importing a surface from CATIA into CREO, where do I go and/or how do I extract the edges of the surface as "curves"?

35 REPLIES 35

Set the selection filter (Lower Right of the screen) to the Geometry.

Select the "edges" you want (hold control if you want multiple)...CNTL C, CNTL V and it will copy them. You can use the tool bar Copy, Paste as well if you prefer that better.

Richard,

A second thought crossed my mind in regard to your question. You state you are evaluating Creo but asked how to copy curves in reference to surfacing. Are you looking at converting V5 surfaces to Creo with the same fidelity as the native by copying imported curves? Are you importing simple stuff (ruled, revolved, lofts, blends) or are you copying more complex stuff?

I ask because, while somewhat similar, V5 and Creo have difference methodologies when it comes to some of the deeper stuff.

Dean,