cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - New to the community? Learn how to post a question and get help from PTC and industry experts! X

Advanced Surfacing Techniques

rpostak
1-Newbie

Advanced Surfacing Techniques

Hello to all,

I am new to the PTC CREO world, but I have over 30 years of CAD experience in other softwares and 20 of those 30 years have been all parametric modeling.  I am currently using CATIA V5 here at work and I am in the process of evaluating CREO for our engineering department.

So my question is...after importing a surface from CATIA into CREO, where do I go and/or how do I extract the edges of the surface as "curves"?

35 REPLIES 35

Select one segment of the surface edge to extend. Select the Extend feature and then you can continue to select more of the desired edge, but you need to select them by picking adjacent segments until you have the complete surface edge. If there are internal corners to this edge they might not extend. There are limitations to extending surfaces. In some cases where you have a jagged edge it might need o be trimmed first to extend it.

Thanks...I got this to work for me, but like you said "there are limitations to extending surfaces".  I'm finding that out.  I was only able to extend my main surface by .75" and no more, but I was needing to extend it to about 6".  Is there a untrim surface function in CREO like there is in CATIA V5?

Constantin
13-Aquamarine
(To:rpostak)

Hi Richard,
there is no 'surface untrim' as such.
The two possibilities I know will not directly meet your needs I think.

1. When working with import geometry, you can start the IDD (Import Data Doctor). In this tool you can simply delete any of the trim boundaries of a trimmed face and it will give you back the untrimmed surface...