cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can subscribe to a forum, label or individual post and receive email notifications when someone posts a new topic or reply. Learn more! X

File History

LR_10400227
3-Visitor

File History

I'm somewhat new to creo and am using the student version. Me and some friends are working on a project and I've been sent parts and was asked to find the creo version that they were made on. I can't seem to figure out how to do this.

22 REPLIES 22

Hi,
Open the file in notepad and you should be able to see the creo version they were made on. 

https://www.ptc.com/en/support/article/CS328109

Here is an example of what I found using this. (I opened notepad and went to the files save location, changed notepad filter to all files and then selected "fork.prt" for this example.) You can see 9.0 which is the version of creo I am running and this file was saved on.

IbrahimTayyab_0-1689823804111.png

This article also mentions this method.

https://www.ptc.com/en/support/article/CS358480

Would this show me the file as I have it saved and the file would be overwritten to my version of Creo or would it be the original version of Creo the file was made on?

StephenW
23-Emerald II
(To:LR_10400227)

If you have saved it, then the version you are working on will be what is shown.

Go back to the original file provided to get the original creo release.

Is there ever a problem opening a creo file from one version on a different version? Like can student files not be opened on different versions of creo?

Dale_Rosema
23-Emerald III

Student files cannot be open by industry software and vice versa (without special things from PTC - then maybe).

Old files can be opened in newer (higher) release software.

Creo is not backwards compatible (or wasn't) so you cannot open newer software with older version.