cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can subscribe to a forum, label or individual post and receive email notifications when someone posts a new topic or reply. Learn more! X

Mechanism design workflow

dwiseman
3-Visitor

Mechanism design workflow

I am new to the Creo mechanism design module and I want to understand a bit more about good mechanism design workflow.

When beginning a design, do I design my mechanism first in a master assembly where I build all the necessary parts (e.g. using a motion skeleton) and then use those parts into a new "mechanism" assembly in order to check the mechanism? i.e. Will I end up with two assemblies, one where the mechanism is actually designed and the other where the parts are assembled with mechanism constraints? I can't see a way where different parts of a mechanism can maintain parametric constraints without having these two different assemblies or am I missing something?

Or is there a way that the mechanism can be integrated into an assembly from the start where I can use the mechanism module as a design aid to drive other geometry in my design?

Any feedback on the best mechanism design workflow would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

5 REPLIES 5

If you use top down design techniques with external copy geometries from a skeleton you can have both parametric driven components and teh working mechanism in the same assy.

--
Doug Schaefer | Experienced Mechanical Design Engineer
LinkedIn

Thanks for the reply Doug.