cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Have a PTC product question you need answered fast? Chances are someone has asked it before. Learn about the community search. X

Curves are displayed in an edgy way.

Ramon_Bohne
11-Garnet

Curves are displayed in an edgy way.

Hello all,

I am a newbie here and I am using Creo Illustarte. So I hope that I will ask correctly.

My question:

Sometimes Illustrate displays a curve in an edgy way.

See my attached example. The cap and the O-ring are actually round.

How can I fix this?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
agarland
15-Moonstone
(To:Ramon_Bohne)

There is no way to adjust the quality of the 3D shapes in Illustrate, this is defined by the quality of data being imported.

Depending on the format of data you are using and whether it is going through an adapter you may be able to change the settings there to improve the quality of parts you get in illustrate.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

You might need to look at the Appearance settings to make curves look better.

The menu pick is File -> Options -> Appearance -> Entity Display

Look at the settings, I have the Edge display quality set at "Very High", the "best" that can be had.

If that's not what's causing your troubles, further investigation will be needed.

Even with these settings, I still sometimes get wonky curve display, especially with large objects. Though that was when I was using Creo 4.0, and we're now using Creo 9.0, so I'll have to see if that kind of nonsense continues.

@KenFarley 
To be honest, I have a German layout and can't find the setting you mentioned.

But anyway, as @agarland said, this would not be the right solution either.

Following his recommendation, I made some changes to the Creo models of the cap and the o-ring and it worked fine 🙂

So in conclusion it seems to be a problem of the Creo models.

agarland