cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Need to share some code when posting a question or reply? Make sure to use the "Insert code sample" menu option. Learn more! X

Mechanism Dynamic analyses wildly different results depending on frame rate and/or measures....

jellis-2
4-Participant

Mechanism Dynamic analyses wildly different results depending on frame rate and/or measures....

Hello All, 

I have limited experience in doing dynamic analysis in Creo mechanism so hopefully I am missing something easy. I have a pretty easy analysis I am working where my only load is gravity and I am looking at the effects of a 2 point lifting fixture that has a load held tight at one end and the other end has the equivalent of 1" of slack. Ideally I could idealize wire rope (that's for another topic) but for now I am using a couple of modeled linkages for my simplified cables. The intent is to determine the acceleration of catching the load with the 1" of slack in it and the overall movement of the lifting fixture and load. This seems to work but I have found when I change the measure I am looking for or change the frame rate I get wildly different results. I can have what looks like what I would expect, take a copy of that analysis and boost the frame rate, to make export to video formats time correctly, and get completely different results. Why would the graphical frame rate or looking at different measures provide different results? 

When I say wildly different I mean not physically possible, like gravity has gone haywire!

Thanks for any help!

4 REPLIES 4

You are on the right track because it is a good idea to check models for their sensitivity to frame rates.  I also may check them relative to the mechanism relative assembly tolerance (1E-5 vs 1E-6)  This setting also affects simulation times, sometimes dramatically.