cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - New to the community? Learn how to post a question and get help from PTC and industry experts! X

Directories and config files

ptc-2141398
1-Newbie

Directories and config files

I am an engineer who was just given the responsibility of Pro/E admin. I understand the differences and load sequences for the three directories (installation, home/logon, & start in). Currently the installation directory is on C: as well as the home, but the start in is set to the network and is not user specific. I feel like the Start in directory should be user specific. Any thoughts? If I make it user specific, should I put it on C: or on the network. Also, I would like to write a .bat file to pull the config files from the network to the installation directory on startup. Will this work?

del C:\Program Files\proeWildfire 5.0\text\config.win.* (my installation directory)

del New_Start_in_directory\config.pro (my new Start in directory)

del New_Start_in_directory\config.win.* (my new Start in directory)

copy P:\Pro_Stds\configs\SysConfigs\config.pro (Secure location on the network to store files)

C:\Program Files\proeWildfire 5.0\text\config.pro (my installation directory)

copy P:\Pro_Stds\configs\SysConfigs\config.win.* (Secure location on the network to store files)

C:\Program Files\proeWildfire 5.0\text\config.win.* (my installation directory)

:: ++++++++++++This launches ProE++++

C:\Program Files\proeWildfire 5.0\bin\proe.exe

I obtained most of this from another post. I question whether I should delete config files from the Start in directory in case someone needed to put them there for some reason. I understand that this is the last place to load. Wouldn't it be best if the users stored their local config files in the home/logon directory?