cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Need to share some code when posting a question or reply? Make sure to use the "Insert code sample" menu option. Learn more! X

How to Rename Batch Exported PDF and STEP Files

EC_9991595
4-Participant

How to Rename Batch Exported PDF and STEP Files

Hello,

I'm new to Creo I've been trying to figure our how to rename files when using Creo Distributed Batch 7.0.2.0

The files have part numbers with a "ABC-00-1234" format but the file names for exported PDF's and STEP files come out as "abc-00-1234".

Is there a ToolKit command I can use to:

1.  Make the first 3 letters in the part number capital.

2.  Add "_rev" and the file revision parameter of the end of the file name.

In the end, I want the file names to be displayed as "ABC-00-1234_revA".

Thank you,

Eddie

5 REPLIES 5

Hi Eddie,

Both is possible, but you need to programm it down in C / C++,

use another solution (Not distributed batch) on the marked like CREOSON,

or a third party product like GENIUS TOOLS Model Processor or IT-Link Publish Documents.

So you need to decide it the effort and the invest to the TOOLKIT license is worth it. You can also use the free version of the JAVA Interface as a synchronous application (I have never done that, but afaik it should be possible too).

Br,

Eike

dnordin
15-Moonstone
(To:EC_9991595)

Eddie,

You can make the changes post batch via a CMD/DOS script or Powershell script. AutoIT is another option (and it's free).

The case switch should be simple enough (AutoIT-StringUpper; Powershell-ToUpper), and the revision information is stored within the header of the Creo Parametric files from which you can extract the necessary information (I'm assuming you're using Windchill).

Regards,

Dan N.