cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about the Community Ranking System, a fun gamification element of the PTC Community. X

Cannot understand this syntax

SK_10336045
4-Participant

Cannot understand this syntax

Hi. 

Im kind of new to mathcad and im trying to make a function whitch can calculate the equivalent line load for a road. I have used a document which has the calculation i need, but unfortunately it does not work for me. 

Can any of you see what is wrong, thanks in advance. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SK_10336045
4-Participant
(To:LucMeekes)

Hi thanks for the reply. I have manage to get somewhat in the right direction.

This Is where I am now. Its says that the variable is undefined.

upload_-aW1hZ2UwMDEucG5n-9197527451125744619..png

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
LucMeekes
23-Emerald III
(To:SK_10336045)

You've types square brackets in a simple expression. Square brackets cause the creation of an array (vector or matrix). I don't think you want an array there:

You've enclosed an assignment in brackets. That is what the error message points to. What exactly is the assignment you want to make to the elements of the arrays X and Y?

The first index into an array is set by the Built-in variable ORIGIN. ORIGIN = 0 in your sheet, but your program/function assumes it's 1...?

SK_10336045
4-Participant

Hi thanks for the reply. I have manage to get somewhat in the right direction.

This Is where I am now. Its says that the variable is undefined.

upload_-aW1hZ2UwMDEucG5n-9197527451125744619..png

LucMeekes
23-Emerald III
(To:SK_10336045)

You should attach the worksheet,

Your expressions suggest that x is an array. The unknown variable is x.k (x with subscript k , instead of the k'th element of x. You should type x[k to get that, not x [Ctl _] k )