cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you get an answer that solved your problem? Please mark it as an Accepted Solution so others with the same problem can find the answer easily. X

Comparing Two RV Arrays and Outputting Character Strings

ptc-5000285
1-Newbie

Comparing Two RV Arrays and Outputting Character Strings

So I'm very new to mathcad prime and I'm trying to compare resultant numbers from computing with range variables. I was hoping someone could show me how to figure out what I'm trying to accomplish.

Example (simplified):

I've defined two range variables

A:=220,320..420

B:=840,640...440

then applying some math with the RVs

C(A):=A/2

D(B):=B/4

I would then like to compare the first value of C to the three values in D and determine if it is greater than or less then the D value and then output an array with Yes if greater, or No is less than. Then repeat this with the second and third values in C respectively.

I'm thing something like this...

i=0

j=0

for i=1:3

for j=1:3

if C(i)>D(j)

E(i+j) = "Yes" %I'd like the ouput to be a one dimensional array/vector and not a two dimensional matrix

else

E(i+j) = "No"

end

end

The red boxes are the two variables I'd like to compare, and display if alpha is greater than tau in a coulmn matrix/array.

Untitled.png

11 REPLIES 11

The attached should help. Be careful to learn the difference between range variables and "proper" variables.

Alan

Would you be so kind as to briefly describe the difference?

RichardJ
19-Tanzanite
(To:ptc-5000285)

See the attached articles by Stuart Bruff.