cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can Bookmark boards, posts or articles that you'd like to access again easily! X

Extracting values from a graph.

GraceSturgess
1-Newbie

Extracting values from a graph.

I am new to Mathcad and I want to be able to look up the values of points on a curve. Looking at the help it appears that "traces" should do that, but I cannot get it to work.
Help!
Grace
9 REPLIES 9

Usually you don't do that. You just get the values directly from the data generatig the graph.
(To:GraceSturgess)

If you are using Pictures, then there is a way of
getting the values under the cursor to be returned
to a MathCAD variable.

However for a 2d graph you can't return the
answers to a variable.

In V11, if you right click and select Trace... a
dialog pops up. You then click again into the
graph at the relevant point and its X & Y values
are displayed for you to read. You can use lect
and right arrow keys to move along the graph

In V14, the dialog also gives buttons to copy the
X, Y1 or Y2 values to the clipboard for pasting
back in to the sheet or a report etc. There is a
tick box to enable/disable the left/right key
tracking.

It sounds like a useful concept for the current
feature suggestion request 😉

Philip Oakley

On 11/3/2009 6:50:28 PM, philipoakley wrote:
== It sounds like a useful concept for the current feature suggestion request 😉

Already on it, Philip 🙂

Stuart

http://collab.mathsoft.com/read?130017,12

10. Allow greater interaction with 2D plots (or even 3D plots) to return specific values such as Trace values, slope at a given point, nearest min/max/zero, area under plot, intersection.

>10. Allow greater interaction with 2D plots (or even 3D plots) to return specific values such as Trace values, slope at a given point, nearest min/max/zero, area under plot, intersection.<<br> _______________________________