cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - When posting, your subject should be specific and summarize your question. Here are some additional tips on asking a great question. X

Mathcad 14 files access

David_K
4-Participant

Mathcad 14 files access

I have been using MathCad since the late 1980s.  I am now retired and no longer have access to Mathcad 14 which I used with my old company. I want to access some old files.  MathCad Express will not let me convert them.  Is there another way to access the files?  I had a 1990 version of Mathcad but no longer have the ability to load it on my PC.  

13 REPLIES 13

I can only think of two legal ways:

1) Whenever a new version of Prime is released, you may download and install it and you should have a 30 days trial period where you also should be able to convert legacy sheets (down forget to check installation of the converter when you install Prime

2) Post the worksheets here in the forum and state the version of Prime you use and some people may be willing to do the conversion for you.

You should be aware that the converted files may not work correct in Prime Express after conversion because

a) Prime is still mediocre compared to real Mathcad and is missing lots of fetures

b) Prime Express is limited with locked features and will not evaluate programs, solve blocks, "premium" functions, etc. After all its free and so its OK that it is limited. There were  posted replacements for a lot of Premium functions here in the forum (mainly by Luc Meekes) but that sure can't cover all locked features and it can be quit challenging to replace programs with loops by a recursively used if-function.

So depending what kind of features your old MC14 sheets are using you might not have much fun with the converted sheets anyway ...

David_K
4-Participant
(To:Werner_E)