cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - If community subscription notifications are filling up your inbox you can set up a daily digest and get all your notifications in a single email. X

Mathcad 6.0 + and Windows 7

ovanni
1-Newbie

Mathcad 6.0 + and Windows 7

Any Mathcad 6.0+ fans out there?

I've been using it since 1995. I got the Mathcad 7 and 8 upgrades and hated them. So, I've been using 6.0+ ever since.

Mathcad 6.0+ ran fine on Win 95, Win NT, Win 98, Win 2000, and Win XP. Win 2000 and XP were a little trickier to install. I just took a good install from a Win 95 machine, copied the whole WINMAD directory and transferred it to the 2000 or XP machine. Then I tweaked the Windows file associations manually.

Now I have Windows 7. I tried the same procedure. Most everything works fine, except when I Save or Save As... Mathcad 6.0+ shuts down abruptly. I’ve fiddled with the Compatibility mode and settings, but I get the same results.

Any suggestions?

23 REPLIES 23
FanCG
1-Newbie
(To:ovanni)

it is said that mathcad 6 plus for mac can work well with snow leopard, maybe you can move to mac OS platform to have a try.

btw, can you print you cal. sheet of mathcad in PDF form, if yes, maybe this is a alternative to save/save as.. (although not a perfect choice)

p.s. 6.0 plus is the revolutionary version of mathcad, personally I think, though it is not the strongest version, it is actually the best version. No BIG improvements are found in the new versions.

ovanni
1-Newbie
(To:FanCG)

Thanks, I'm not interested in another OS. If I wanted to do that, I'd go back to Win 2000 or XP.

I need to Save and Save As... so I can modify, edit, refine, and Save multiple version of my 1000+ Mathcad 6.0 Plus files.