cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Stay updated on what is happening on the PTC Community by subscribing to PTC Community Announcements. X

Solve matrix

Casper123
3-Visitor

Solve matrix

Hi,
I'm somewhat new to mathcad and trying to solve an equation with a solve block. (see attached)

Tried several things, but without succes, I don't know if ti actually can work? perhaps with a for-while loop?

The equation is quite straight forward with some forces and lengths, resulting in a summed moment, for which I would like to find a 0. 

Can anybody help to achieve this or help me in the right direction?

Kind regards, Casper

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

In case you want the values in the matrices you defined with the sum-symbol in their name to really be summed up, you have to tell Prime that it should do so. In this case Mh returns a single value and so a single variable x would be all that is needed:

Werner_E_0-1657039954007.png

EDIT: A third interpretation of what you are trying to achieve comes to my mind. Maybe you want the definition for Mh to be vectorized?
This would yield

Werner_E_0-1657041231143.png

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

Your function Mh returns a vector of 16 elements.

Werner_E_1-1657038879786.png

If you want this vector to be all zeros, this would mean you have 16 single equations.
Because you only provide one single variable x for Prime to vary, Prime is not able to find a solution:

Werner_E_0-1657038788622.png

No surprise, as you normally would need at least 16 unknows to get a solution.

If you define your guess as a vector of 16 elements, Prime is able to find a solution.
Not sure if this is what you are looking for:

Werner_E_2-1657039277652.png