cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Your Friends List is a way to easily have access to the community members that you interact with the most! X

Symbolic engine - strange results

o.svahn
9-Granite

Symbolic engine - strange results

Hello

I am new to MathCad but I always have this strange anomaly when using symbolic solve for a variabel power of 2.

Can anyone please explain if I do it wrong. Exampel file included. Thanks in advance.

3 REPLIES 3
LucMeekes
23-Emerald III
(To:o.svahn)

You wouldn't expect the two results you show as expected. A variable K shouldn't change to the unit Kelvin, a variable m should change to the unit metre. But this is due to the fact that you typed in these expressions, and Prime's famous autolabelling feature assumed that K and m are units, and turns them blue.

You should also know that the symbolic processor doesn't 'know' about units. At best it treats them like unknown variables.

Apart from that, and to your actual question:

What if you add 'simplify' to the symbolic evaluation?

And additionally: You are using Prime 6, where you have the option to choose between two symbolic solvers: The 'new' one , which is the default, or the former one (MuPad). Do they both give the same answer?

Finally: It is known for a long time, with Mathcad as well as Prime, that the output of the symbolic solver is hard to control. There are few options for that. Here's the output for Mathcad 11 (which uses yet another symbolic processor (Maple):

LucMeekes_0-1615658568204.png

Success!
Luc

You are not doing anything wrong.